space: (noun) the amount of an area, room, surface, etc., that is empty or available for use; an area that is used or available for a specific purpose; origin: middle english, 14th century

My office is one of my spaces.

I have several of them. There’s my apartment, my car, the booths at Chick-fil-A down the street from work, the member’s lounge at the Art Institute of Chicago, Creation Lab, and a few others that I like to drop into from time to time. But my office is one of my spaces.

IMG_0128

I have a beautiful view of the Garth where people come and make homemade music videos, have wedding photography sessions, and during the warmer months, tourists come and throw coins into the fountain and people seeking clean drinking water can drink from that same fountain. My office has a couch, a couple of desks for myself and my co-workers, some bookshelves, a small fish tank, some plants, a candle here and there, some Tibetan prayer flags, and lots of photos of the people I love and places that helped shape me.

I love my office. It’s a place of productivity, a place where laughter happens, a place where there is always a full candy dish and snacks, a place where meetings happen, and a place where I can breathe.

Space is important, and how you keep it makes a difference.

When our bedroom is a mess, I can’t sleep. There’s so much stuff in it. When my apartment is clean and tidy, I am more productive and seem to have an easier time getting ready in the morning. How you treat your space is important. Because it affects how you do you. Creating space is not a one-time thing, it’s an ongoing thing. You create space wherever you go.

I want to create space where people feel invited, cozy, and loved. If I can accomplish that on a daily basis, I’m doin’ all right.

Leave a comment